When is honesty the best policy?

That’s a tricky one…

When your new boss asks you if you have any thoughts on a project (and I always do), that is NOT the best time for honesty. Neither is it the time for honesty when your little sister first asks you what you think of her fiancé.

Honesty is also really difficult when you are sick.

Sure, if your leg falls off and you are annoyingly bleeding about the room, you can be honest. Or maybe if you have a stomach flu for a sensibly limited amount of time, like a weekend when your work/friends aren’t doing anything important. Or maybe a car accident (with visible injuries, to you or the car).

But that’s the point, isn’t it. It has to be visible. It has to fit with other people’s definition of reasonable, believable, temporary.

Because people get bored with long term illness, and people tend to disbelieve illnesses that are not on the surface. Which is crazy since there are so many: narcolepsy, depression/mental illness, HIV, fibromyalgia, cancer….

I know/knew people will all of those illnesses, and really, it is only people with those illnesses who understand that when you tell someone you are not feeling well that it covers more than a virus or a open wound.

Essentially, being sick with something other than a “socially acceptable” illness means you can’t be honest when people ask you how you feel or what exactly is wrong with you (why the hell is that always the first fucking question?)…it makes you a liar.

I was diagnosed as bipolar over 9 years ago but had the diagnosis removed from my record and stopped seeing that doctor. Talk about a river in Egypt. I just started seeing a new therapist and have an appointment with a psychiatrist on the 12th to finally address the issue.

This is the first time I have ever been honest about my diagnosis. I’ve only told a small handful of close friends. And not all of them have had the full story complete with labels.

Some people are very honest like Sarah from Seattle.

I think she is incredibly brave. Just reading her About page made me feel better about myself and made me decide to go ahead with this post (which I’ve been thinking about for over a week).

Not that I think this post is going to get certain people off of my back. Or help people be more understanding when I blow through deadlines, miss meetings, buy $400 worth of comic books, or adopt three new cats in less that two months (the kittens will be here in just three weeks!).

But I needed to put this down, on the record, for myself. I need to label things. It makes them easier to tackle. And at my current rate of a hard-turn-cycle every 4 to 5 days, I need to tackle this. I need to start writing poetry again. I need to file my paperwork for school next semester and figure out a way to pay May’s rent.

I have good days moments and bad ones, but my standard reply to “How are you?” is now “It’s a good day” or, like today, “It’s not such a good day.”

And I hope that will be enough honesty for you.

P.S. (05-05-12) I just read this and thought it is a perfect quote: “Don’t ever ask ‘How are you?’ or ‘How are you feeling?’ because the answer never changes and I don’t want to talk about it. Instead ask, ‘How is your day going?’ or ‘Is there anything you need help with today?'” Thank you, Purple Law Lady!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Dancing with chronic pain… « Living on the Green Edge
  2. alicethroughthemacrolens
    May 03, 2012 @ 05:13:56

    How fantastic that you have taken the step to be open about your illness! And what brilliant video clips you’ve included. I live in England, and these have not been shown (to my knowledge) on British TV, so it was my first time seeing them. I was so wrapped up in it, I’ve even watched 30 mins so far of the Glenn Close and her sister and nephew’s speeches to a Neuroscience conference … Still more than an hour to go, but I’ll watch the rest later :-)
    Thank you for your comments on my own blog. It’s interesting that you say you had your diagnosis deleted years ago. In my case, I have been released from the earlier “diagnosis” of Cyclothymia, because my symptoms are “more serious than that” but they refuse to say it is Bipolar because I, too, swing (or hard-turn cycle, as you put it) on an average weekly basis. I am now listed as a “rapid-cycling something or other” :-)
    Mental illness is an incredibly brave thing to be honest about – but it shouldn’t be. I, for one, am currently of an attitude that I don’t give a shit who I tell – I’m not ashamed, and if they want to squirm and feel uncomfortable with the information, that’s their problem, not mine.
    So bravo to you for taking honesty by the horns and running with it.
    I wish you well x

    Reply

    • Tiffany A. Turbin Santos
      May 03, 2012 @ 12:13:31

      Thank you so much, Alice. I really love those Glenn close clips, too. The first time I saw them on TV, I started to cry. I’ve not watched the longer clip you mention, but I’ll put it on my “view” list!

      Ugh, as if living with the symptoms wasn’t hard enough, I find dealing with the medical system to be a whole other set of BS. I told my new doctor about the previous diagnosis, and he just shoved me off on a counseling center. I mean, I don’t think there is a diagnostic test for bipolar disorder, but there should at least be a questionnaire or something! That is definitely a subject for a future post (or series of posts!).

      I am trying to view bipolar disorder in the same way I view being a lesbian or liking my cats more than people–it is a big part of my life, which I occasionally discuss, and while I don’t run down the street screaming about it, if someone finds out and doesn’t want to associate with me anymore, than I really would like to know so I won’t waste time on an asshole.

      Thank you so much for the support and encouragement! I really, really, REALLY, appreciate it! I wish you the best as well!

      Reply

  3. Dorina
    May 02, 2012 @ 19:01:57

    love you so much. proud of you. its good to get everything out of yourself and have it in print somehow. i really need to journal and write again. but i have no motivation

    Reply

    • Tiffany A. Turbin Santos
      May 02, 2012 @ 19:16:47

      I love you, Dorina! Thank you!

      I think once you figure out how to feel better, you will start writing again. It is hard to have motivation when you are in pain and feel like shit. Besides, you could always start writing about the kitty! ;-)

      Reply

  4. Sarah @ bi[polar] curious
    May 02, 2012 @ 11:24:00

    Yay, a big, serious high-five for being open & honest about this!

    I spent a long time being in denial too, and I hope you can see that by taking this thing and looking it directly in the face you are making an amazingly strong, courageous, and responsible move in potentially improving your life.

    On top of that, being open about taking that step means helping to improve the lives of others too. I whole heartedly believe that the more people are open about this, the easier it will be for everyone down the line to be open about it.

    You’re my hero of the day!

    Reply

Thoughts?

Tiffany Santos - Find me on Bloggers.com
bloglovin